Memphis Police dissolve unit responsible for Tyre Nichols’ death

So called ‘Scorpion unit’ disbanded following the horrific killing of Memphis resident Tyre Nichols.

The unit responsible for the killing of Memphis resident Tyre Nichols has been dissolved.

Nichols, who was on his way home after photographing sunset landscapes, was beaten to death for approximately 3 minutes by police officers. The entire incident (from 7th January) was captured on CCTV.

An independent autopsy found that Mr Nichols’ death was due to “…extensive bleeding caused by a severe beating.”

Five police officers involved in the incident – Tadarrius Bean, Emmitt Martin III, Desmond Mills Jr, Demetrius Haley, and Justin Smith face 60 years in prison if convicted of second-degree murder. Their lawyers have said they will plead not guilty.

Demetrius Haley, Desmond Mills, Jr, Emmitt Martin III, Justin Smith and Tadarrius Bean. All officers have been removed from duty and face up to 60 years in jail.

The Memphis police department released a statement that said: “While the heinous actions of a few casts a cloud of dishonour on the title Scorpion, it is imperative that we, the Memphis Police Department, take proactive steps in the healing process for all impacted,”

‘Scorpion’, an acronym for “Street Crimes Operation to Restore Peace in Our Neighborhoods” was a 50 person unit tasked with bringing down crime levels in specific areas.

Protestors reacted with cheers to the news and organiser, Casio Montez, said that they will not stop until the community’s demands are met.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Website Powered by

%d bloggers like this: